Animal Byproducts That Like to Make Spontaneous Appearances

Category : Vegan Diet

Vegan DietThe good news is that in today’s age, there is a vegan diet friendly option for almost any kind of food, or two, or five. However, it’s still a good idea for you to stay up to date on animal byproducts that can pop up foods we use every day. We don’t need them or want them, so your vigilance will pay off.

  •  BBQ Sauce – There are several vegan diet friendly versions of BBQ sauce on the market, but if you purchase one from a grocery store, make sure to check the label for these ingredients: anchovies, chicken fat, rendered beef fat, beef extract, beef stock, eggs, and honey.
  •  Beer – Many kinds of beer on the market today are refined with gelatin, albumin (which comes from eggs, and potassium caseinate (which is derived from milk products).
  •  Bread – Some breads can contain eggs, milk, butter, whey, or honey.
  •  Brown Sugar – Brown sugar is created by adding cane molasses to refined sugar. Cane sugar is refined by using bone char (which comes from animals); however, you can find brown sugar that is processed without the use of bone char in most health food stores.
  •  Cereal – Cereal can contain many of the same suspects as bread, including milk, whey, sugar, and gelatin. However, one ingredient that you need to watch out for is Vitamin D. Vitamin D without a subscript refers to either Vitamin D3 (cholecalciferol) or Vitamin D2 (ergocalciferol). Vitamin D3 may be derived from lanolin, a substance that is secreted by the sebaceous glands of sheep. Vitamin D2 is derived from fungal and plant sources.
  •  Flour Tortillas – These tortillas usually include lard, whey, and glycerides. These three ingredients may or may not be derived from animal sources, so you will need to do your homework before purchasing them.
  •  Margarine – Even though margarine is made as an alternative to butter, it can still contain whey or other ingredients derived from dairy sources. If you need a vegan diet friendly margarine, Earth Balance is a great option.
  •  Sugar – Commercially-produced white, granulated sugar comes from either cane sugar or from beet sugar. Cane sugar is either filtered through activated carbon or bone char but beet sugar is not. Sugar that hasn’t been filtered through bone char can usually be found at natural food stores. Additional alternatives include Sucanat (non-refined cane sugar that has not had the molasses removed), turbinado sugar (made by steaming unrefined raw sugar), Stevia, maple sugar (about twice as sweet as standard granulated sugar), and date sugar (an unprocessed sugar made from dehydrated dates). Liquid sweeteners such as brown rice syrup, pure maple syrup, agave syrup, malt syrup, and fruit juice concentrates can also be used.
  •  Wine – Wine can be made using animal derived ingredients, like gelatin or egg whites. Animal blood is occasionally used to refine wine, but not as much as it was in the past. Just do a little homework before you purchase a certain kind of wine.